Everything you need to know about the 2024 Tony Awards

Including the complete list of nominations…

Calling all musical theatre and play lovers; the Tony Awards are gearing up for their 77th annual ceremony in 2024.

But before this year’s Tony Awards kick off, with Oscar-winner and Tony Award-nominee Ariana DeBose hosting, here’s everything you need to know!

When are the Tony Awards 2024?

This year’s Tony Awards will take place on June 17 (AEST).

Where are the Tony Awards 2024?

The awards ceremony will be held at the David H. Koch Theater at Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts in New York City in 2024.

What day are Tony nominations announced?

The Tony nominations for 2024 were announced on May 1 (AEST). The complete list of Tony Award nominations for this year is below:

Best musical

Hell’s Kitchen
The Outsiders
Water for Elephants

rachel mcadams

Best play

Jaja’s African Hair Braiding by Jocelyn Bioh
Mary Jane by Amy Herzog
Mother Play by Paula Vogel
Prayer for the French Republic by Joshua Harmon
Stereophonic by David Adjmi

Best revival of a musical

Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club
Gutenberg! The Musical!
Merrily We Roll Along
The Who’s Tommy

Best revival of a play

Appropriate by Branden Jacobs-Jenkins
An Enemy of the People by Henrik Ibsen (adapted by Amy Herzog)
Purlie Victorious by Ossie Davis

Lead actress in a musical

Eden Espinosa – Lempicka
Maleah Joi Moon – Hell’s Kitchen
Kelli O’Hara – Days of Wine and Roses
Maryann Plunkett – The Notebook
Gayle Rankin – Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club

Lead actor in a musical

Brody Grant – The Outsiders
Jonathan Groff – Merrily We Roll Along
Dorian Harewood – The Notebook
Brian d’Arcy James – Days of Wine and Roses
Eddie Redmayne – Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club

tony awards 2024 - daniel radcliffe, jonathon groff and lindsay mendez

Lead actress in a play

Betsy Aidem – Prayer for the French Republic
Jessica Lange – Mother Play
Rachel McAdams – Mary Jane
Sarah Paulson – Appropriate
Amy Ryan – Doubt: A Parable

Lead actor in a play

William Jackson Harper – Uncle Vanya
Leslie Odom Jr. – Purlie Victorious
Liev Schreiber – Doubt: A Parable
Jeremy Strong – An Enemy of the People
Michael Stuhlbarg – Patriots

Featured actress in a musical

Shoshana Bean – Hell’s Kitchen
Amber Iman – Lempicka
Nikki M. James – Suffs
Leslie Rodriguez Kritzer – Monty Python’s Spamalot
Kecia Lewis – Hell’s Kitchen
Lindsay Mendez – Merrily We Roll Along
Bebe Neuwirth – Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club

Featured actor in a musical

Roger Bart – Back to the Future: The Musical
Joshua Boone – The Outsiders
Brandon Victor Dixon – Hell’s Kitchen
Sky Lakota-Lynch – The Outsiders
Daniel Radcliffe – Merrily We Roll Along
Steven Skybell – Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club

Featured actress in a play

Quincy Tyler Bernstine – Doubt: A Parable
Juliana Canfield – Stereophonic
Celia Keenan-Bolger – Mother Play
Sarah Pidgeon – Stereophonic
Kara Young – Purlie Victorious

tony awards 2024 - jessica lange

Featured actor in a play

Will Brill – Stereophonic
Eli Gelb – Stereophonic
Jim Parsons – Mother Play
Tom Pecinka – Stereophonic
Corey Stoll – Appropriate

Director of a musical

Maria Friedman – Merrily We Roll Along
Michael Greif – Hell’s Kitchen
Leigh Silverman – Suffs
Jessica Stone – Water for Elephants
Danya Taymor – The Outsiders

Director of a play

Daniel Aukin – Stereophonic
Anne Kauffman – Mary Jane
Kenny Leon – Purlie Victorious
Lila Neugebauer – Appropriate
Whitney White – Jaja’s African Hair Braiding

Original score

Adam Guettel – Days of Wine and Roses
David Byrne and Fatboy Slim – Here Lies Love
Will Butler – Stereophonic
Shaina Taub – Suffs
Jamestown Revival and Justin Levine – The Outsiders

Book of a musical

Kristoffer Diaz – Hell’s Kitchen
Bekah Brunstetter – The Notebook
Adam Rapp and Justin Levine – The Outsiders
Shaina Taub – Suffs
Rick Elice – Water for Elephants

tony awards 2024 - sarah paulson

Scenic design of a play

Dots – Appropriate
Dots – An Enemy of the People
Derek McLane – Purlie Victorious
David Zinn – Jaja’s African Hair Braiding
David Zinn – Stereophonic

Scenic design of a musical

AMP featuring Tatiana Kahvegian – The Outsiders
Robert Brill and Peter Nigrini – Hell’s Kitchen
Takeshi Kata – Water for Elephants
David Korins – Here Lies Love
Riccardo Hernández and Peter Nigrini – Lempicka
Tim Hatley and Finn Ross – Back to the Future: The Musical
Tom Scutt – Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club

Costume design of a play

Dede Ayite – Appropriate
Dede Ayite – Jaja’s African Hair Braiding
Enver Chakartash – Stereophonic
Emilio Sosa – Purlie Victorious
David Zinn – An Enemy of the People

Costume design of a musical

Dede Ayite – Hell’s Kitchen
Linda Cho – The Great Gatsby
David Israel Reynoso – Water for Elephants
Tom Scutt – Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club
Paul Tazewell – Suffs

Lighting design of a play

Isabella Byrd – An Enemy of the People
Amith Chandrashaker – Prayer for the French Republic
Jiyoun Chang – Stereophonic
Jane Cox – Appropriate
Natasha Katz – Grey House

tony awards 2024 - eddie redmayne

Lighting design of a musical

Brandon Stirling Baker – Illinoise
Isabella Byrd – Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club
Natasha Katz – Hell’s Kitchen
Bradley King and David Bengali – Water for Elephants
Brian MacDevitt and Hana S. Kim – The Outsiders

Sound design of a play

Justin Ellington and Stefania Bulbarella – Jaja’s African Hair Braiding
Leah Gelpe – Mary Jane
Tom Gibbons – Grey House
Bray Poor and Will Pickens – Appropriate
Ryan Rumery – Stereophonic

Sound design of a musical

M.L. Dogg and Cody Spencer – Here Lies Love
Kai Harada – Merrily We Roll Along
Nick Lidster for Autograph – Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club
Gareth Owen – Hell’s Kitchen
Cody Spencer – The Outsiders


Camille A. Brown – Hell’s Kitchen
Jesse Robb and Shana Carroll – Here Lies Love
Rick Kuperman and Jeff Kuperman – The Outsiders
Annie-B Parson – Illinoise
Justin Peck – Water for Elephants


Timo Andres – Illinoise
Will Butler and Justin Craig – Stereophonic
Justin Levine, Matt Hinkley and Jamestown Revival – The Outsiders
Tom Kitt and Adam Blackstone – Hell’s Kitchen
Jonathan Tunick – Merrily We Roll Along

Related stories