Everything you need to know about the 2024 Australian Open

Attention all tennis enthusiasts…

The 2024 Australian Open is officially underway!

The Grand Slam tennis event began on January 14, 2024 in Melbourne at Melbourne Park, and is set to wrap up on January 28, 2024.

And so, without further ado, here’s everything you need to know about this year’s Australian Open…

Where can you watch the Australian Open?

Australians can tune in to the tennis tournament via Channel Nine and/or 9Now.

What time is the Australian Open on TV?

Live coverage of the Australian Open is available from 11:00am AEDT daily on both Channel Nine and 9Now.

ash barty australian open 2024
Ash Barty walked the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup onto Rod Laver Arena during day one of the 2024 Australian Open.

Who is competing in the Australian Open 2024?

In the men’s division, notable players competing in the Australian Open include No. 1 Novak Djokovic, No. 2 Carlos Alcaraz, and Australia’s Alex de Minaur – who recently became No. 10.

Novak will undoubtedly play up a storm this year as if he wins, it’d be his 25th major singles title, which would break a tie with Margaret Court for the most major singles titles won by any player.

Rafael Nadal will not be competing in the 2024 Australian Open; he withdrew because of a muscle tear in his hip.

In the women’s division, notable players competing in this year’s Australian Open include No. 1 Iga Swiatek, No. 2 Aryna Sabalenka, and Australia’s Kimberly Birrell.

What is the prize money for the Australian Open?

The total prize pool for the 2024 Australian Open is a whopping AU$86.5 million. The winners of the men’s and women’s singles at the 2024 Australian Open will walk away with $3.15 million each, while the runners-up will win $1.725 million each.

Semi-finalists will win $990,000, quarter-finalists will win $600,000, and all other players who make it to the following rounds will win the following prize money:

Fourth round$375,000
Third round$255,000
Second round$180,000
First round $120,000
Third round qualifying $65,000
Second round qualifying$44,100
First round qualifying$31,250
novak djokovic australian open 2024
No. 1 Novak Djokovic will compete again this year.

When is the Australian Open grand final?

The women’s singles final will take place on January 27, 2024 and the men’s singles final will take place on January 28, 2024.

How much are tickets for the Australian Open?

If you want to head to Melbourne and watch this year’s Australian Open live in the arena, tickets start at $69 – but prices all depend on where you want to sit and what matches you’d like to attend. For example, tickets for prime seats to the grand final currently cost $5,999.00. For more information, head to Ticketmaster Australia.

Who has won the Australian Open?

Rod Laver, Jim Courier, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Margaret Court, Steffi Graf, Lindsay Davenport, Serena Williams, Maria Sharapova, and Ash Barty are just some of the incredible tennis players who have won the Australian Open in previous years.

Related stories