All the differences between the Bridgerton books and TV show

There's more than you may think...

In case you didn’t know, the wildly popular Netflix series Bridgerton is based on an eight-part book series, written by Julia Quinn.

This means fans of the show can find out what’s in store for future seasons by reading the books… Sort of.

As with any adaptation, there are a few differences between the Bridgerton books and the Bridgerton TV show.

Read on to see all the differences between the books and the show so far…

book 1


The Duke and I

Released in 2000

The first season of Bridgerton is based on The Duke and I. The book and season follows Daphne Bridgerton, as her pretend courtship with Simon Bassett, the Duke of Hastings, turns into a real romance.

However, there are a few key differences. For starters, in the book, Daphne is in her second social season and most eligible men think of her as a friend rather than a potential spouse. In the show though, Daphne is entering her first social season and is described as “flawless” and “a diamond of the first water”.

Secondly, the controversial sex scene is much worse in the book. In The Duke and I, Daphne takes advantage of a very drunk Simon and coerces him into having sex without using the pull out method. Whereas in Bridgerton, Daphne and Simon start having relations consensually but then, mid-intercourse, Daphne switches to a position where Simon physically can’t pull out.

Furthermore, there are many more subplots in Bridgerton than in the book, not to mention there are many new characters; Queen Charlotte, Siena Rosso, Prince Friederich, Genevieve Delacroix and Henry Granville don’t exist in the books, for example.

Finally, the identity of Lady Whistledown is revealed to viewers in the final episode of Bridgerton Season 1. However, Lady Whistledown’s identity (spoiler: Penelope Featherington) isn’t revealed to readers until the fourth book, Romancing Mister Bridgerton.

Available at:

book 2


The Viscount Who Loved Me

Released in 2000

The second season of Bridgerton is based on The Viscount Who Loved Me. One major difference is that in the book, Anthony Bridgerton is torn between Kate and Edwina Sheffield from London whereas in the show he’s torn between Kate and Edwina Sharma from India.

Furthermore, the love triangle is much more dramatic on screen. In the series, Anthony and Edwina are halfway through their wedding vows before Edwina realises that Anthony loves Kate and is heartbroken because she loves Anthony. Whereas in The Viscount Who Loved Me, Anthony and Edwina never make it to a wedding ceremony and, despite a courtship, neither of them have strong feelings for one another.

Oh and the bee sting scene is slightly different too. In the book, Anthony literally attempts to suck the venom out of Kate and when they’re caught by Lady Bridgerton and Lady Featherington, the two are forced to wed. Thankfully, Bridgerton made it much more romantic and Kate calms Anthony, who has a panic attack because his father died from a bee sting, down by placing his hand gently on her chest so he can feel her heartbeat.

Also in Season 2, Eloise is determined to find out who Lady Whistledown is and, during her search, encounters Theo Sharpe. This subplot nor the character of Theo are present in the book.

Available at:

book 3


An Offer from a Gentleman

Released in 2001

The third book tells Benedict Bridgerton’s story; namely how he met and fell in love with Sophie Beckett. The series is yet to make a season revolving around Benedict and Sophie – Bridgerton skipped Benedict for Season 3 and went straight to Colin and Penelope.

Available at:

book 4


Romancing Mister Bridgerton

Released in 2002

The upcoming Season 3 of Bridgerton is based on Romancing Mister Bridgerton and will follow Colin Bridgerton and Penelope Featherington as their friendship blossoms into something more…

Stay tuned for the key differences between this Bridgerton book and the TV show…

Available at:

Bridgerton books tv show differences - book 5


To Sir Phillip, With Love

Released in 2003

To Sir Phillip, With Love tells Eloise Bridgerton’s story, detailing her romance with Sir Phillip Crane. Bridgerton is yet to make a season based on this book.

Available at:

Bridgerton books tv show differences - book 6


When He Was Wicked

Released in 2004

Francesca Bridgerton and Michael Stirling are at the centre of When He Was Wicked; a season revolving around the two is yet to be made.

Available at:

Bridgerton books tv show differences - book 7


It’s In His Kiss

Released in 2005

In It’s In His Kiss, Hyacinth Bridgerton and Gareth St. Clair’s story is told. Bridgerton hasn’t made a season based on this book yet.

Available at:

Bridgerton books tv show differences - book 8


On the Way to the Wedding

Released in 2006

The final Bridgerton book tells Gregory Bridgerton’s story and details his love triangle (or rather love pentagon) with Miss Hermione Watson and Lady Lucinda Abernathy. This storyline hasn’t been explored on Bridgerton the TV series yet.

Available at:

Is the Bridgerton show accurate to the books?

The TV show Bridgerton is fairly accurate to the books; however, as explored above there are a few differences.

Why is Bridgerton not following the books?

The first two seasons follow the first two books pretty closely. However, Season 3 skipped Book 3 (An Offer from a Gentleman) and is instead based on Book 4 (Romancing Mister Bridgerton).

Series showrunner Jess Bromnell explained the decision to Entertainment Tonight.

“We’ve spent two seasons really getting to know Pen and Colin. We’ve been watching Pen’s crush and seeing how oblivious Colin is to it. That’s a dynamic that you can only play out for so long before something has to change. This really felt like the right time to lean into what’s been set up with them,” Jess said.

“On the Benedict side, he’s such a fun character and such a fan favourite that we are really excited to play with him for a little bit more and let him have more fun before he settles down.”

Related stories