Books

Best biographies to add to your reading list

Captivating reads for you to consider.

If you’re a fan of compelling life stories that inspire, educate, and captivate, then this list of the best biographies to read is for you.

From tales of resilience and survival to narratives of innovation and discovery, biographies offer a window into the lives of extraordinary individuals who have left a mark on history. Whether you’re interested in Australian heritage, technological pioneers, or incredible journeys of hope, these books provide rich and diverse perspectives.

Dive into our carefully curated selection and find your next great read among the best biographies that promise to enlighten and entertain.

My Place

Sally Morgan

Sally Morgan’s My Place is a poignant exploration of her Aboriginal heritage. This autobiography delves into her journey of self-discovery and the uncovering of her family’s hidden history. Morgan’s narrative reveals the struggles and triumphs of her ancestors, providing a powerful insight into the lives of Indigenous Australians. The book is both a personal memoir and a broader social commentary, highlighting themes of identity, family, and belonging. My Place is an essential read for understanding the complex and often painful history of Australia’s First Nations peoples.

Steve Jobs

Walter Issacson

Walter Isaacson’s Steve Jobs offers an in-depth look into the life of Apple’s co-founder, Steve Jobs. Based on over forty interviews with Jobs and conversations with more than a hundred family members, friends, adversaries, and colleagues, this biography paints a comprehensive picture of a complex individual. Isaacson explores Jobs’ innovation, drive, and sometimes volatile personality, providing insights into his role in shaping the modern technological landscape. The book is a fascinating read for those interested in technology, business, and the intricacies of a visionary mind.

The Happiest Refugee

Ahn Do

Anh Do’s The Happiest Refugee is an inspiring memoir that recounts his journey from a perilous escape from war-torn Vietnam to becoming one of Australia’s most beloved comedians. Do’s narrative is filled with humour, resilience, and gratitude, as he reflects on his family’s struggles and triumphs in their new homeland. The book is a heart-warming and uplifting read, showcasing the power of optimism and determination. Through his story, Do highlights the challenges faced by refugees and the incredible strength of the human spirit.

A Fortunate Life

A.B. Facey

A Fortunate Life is a quintessential Australian autobiography that chronicles the incredible journey of Albert Facey. Born into hardship, Facey worked from a young age, faced the horrors of World War I, and experienced the Great Depression. Despite the adversities, he recounts his life with gratitude and resilience. The narrative is a testament to the human spirit, capturing the essence of Australian history and culture. This compelling story is not just a personal account but a reflection of an era, making it a must-read for anyone interested in Australia’s past.

The Piano Player of Budapest

Roxanne de Bastion

The Piano Player of Budapest by Roxanne de Bastion is a family story of survival, hope, and music. When Roxanne inherited a piano after her father’s death, she discovered a cassette recording of her grandfather, Stephen, playing one of his compositions. This discovery unravelled the extraordinary history of the piano, her grandfather, and her family. Stephen was a renowned musician who survived the horrors of WWII concentration camps. By piecing together cassette recordings, unpublished memoirs, letters, and documents, Roxanne tells a moving story of music and hope that echoes through generations. Fans of The Pianist and The Cut Out Girl will find this biography particularly compelling.

Related stories