A definitive ranking of every Liane Moriarty book

As well as where it's best to shop the Australian author's novels...

Liane Moriarty, the Australian author of multiple internationally bestselling books, is back!

In August of this year, Liane will release a new novel titled Here One Moment – and it sounds just as intriguing as her previous works.

Here One Moment will follow the passengers of a flight flying from Hobart to Sydney. And while the plane lands safely, all of them leave the plane changed forever. This is because during the flight, an unremarkable lady predicts how and when various passengers will die…

Ahead of Here One Moment’s release (which you can pre-order now from Booktopia, Amazon and Dymocks), we’ve ranked all of Liane Moriarty’s previous books below; although we must say, each and every one of them is a must-read.

Where to start with Liane Moriarty?

It’s honestly up to you as, so far, all of Liane’s books are standalone tales. You can either read Liane Moriarty’s books in release order, in the order we’ve listed below, or whatever order you like!

What is Liane Moriarty’s best selling book?

Liane’s best selling book is undoubtedly Big Little Lies.

What’s the best Liane Moriarty book?

As with all art, Liane’s books are subjective. Some people may prefer her earlier work, some may prefer her most popular books. If you’re still not sure, The Weekly have ranked all of Liane’s books below:


Big Little Lies

Released in 2014

Big Little Lies sure made a splash when it was first released. It made the New York Times Best Seller list, won the Davitt Award, and then was turned into an Emmy Award-winning television show that starred Nicole Kidman, Reese Witherspoon, Shailene Woodley, Zoë Kravitz and Laura Dern.

And 10 years later, Big Little Lies is still undoubtedly a thrilling and well-written book. If you’re yet to read it, it’s a murder mystery that follows single mother Jane who, when her son starts kindergarten, befriends two other mums: Madeleine and Celeste. And when the three women end up unravelling some shocking secrets, they soon find out that little lies can be lethal…

Available at:


What Alice Forgot

Released in 2009

Funny, heart wrenching and extremely thought provoking, What Alice Forgot follows Alice Love, a 29-year-old who is happily married and expecting her first child.

However, one morning, Alice wakes up and soon discovers that she’s actually 39, about to be divorced and has three children. Yes, thanks to a bump on the head, Alice has lost the last 10 years of her life to amnesia, and must now figure out why her life has drastically changed.

Available at:


The Husband’s Secret

Released in 2013

The Husband’s Secret is an absolute page turner. The gripping novel introduces us to Cecila Fitzpatrick, who has it all; a successful business, a wonderful husband and three beautiful children.

But when she finds a letter that was supposed to only be opened after her husband’s death, she discovers his deepest, darkest secret. Something that not only will change Cecilia’s life completely but also the lives of Rachek Crowley and Tess O’Leary, two acquaintances of hers.

Available at:


Three Wishes

Released in 2004

To be honest, it’s clear that Liane has really honed her craft since her debut book was released. With that being said though, Three Wishes is still very entertaining and does feature her trademark humour as well as complex characters.

The book opens with triplet sisters Lyn, Cat, and Gemma Kettle celebrating their 34th birthday. The siblings soon begin fighting though, so we’re taken back a year to understand the events that lead up to this intense moment…

Available at:

liane moriarty books


The Last Anniversary

Released in 2005

The Last Anniversary is a seriously compelling book. Sisters Connie and Rose are considered celebrities in their small town. When they were young adults, they found an abandoned baby and decided to raise it themselves.

But 70 years later, when Connie passes away and Sophie Honeywell inherits her house, a secret about the baby’s true origins resurfaces… Make sure you read The Last Anniversary before the television adaptation, starring Teresa Palmer and produced by Nicole Kidman, is released.

Available at:


Apples Never Fall

Released in 2021

Liane expertly explores marriage, siblings and family dynamics in Apples Never Fall. The novel follows the four adult Delaney children, who, on the one hand, want to report to the police that their mother is missing, but on the other hand, are concerned their father will become a suspect.

Of course, as the mystery unravels, it looks like every member of the Delaney family had a secret to hide. We recommend reading the book and then watching the television adaptation starring Sam Neill and Annette Bening!

Available at:


The Hypnotist’s Love Story

Released in 2011

In The Hypnotist’s Love Story, professional hypnotherapist Ellen O’Farrell has a perfect relationship with her boyfriend Patrick. She’s even okay with the fact that he has a stalker.

Actually, Ellen thinks it’d be cool to meet the stalker. But little does she know, she already has… Funny, warm and captivating, The Hypnotist’s Love Story is definitely one of Liane’s ‘lighter’ novels but still well worth reading.

Available at:

liane moriarty books


Truly Madly Guilty

Released in 2016

Truly Madly Guilty follows three married couples before, during and after they attend a barbeque that spirals out of control.

The book is incredibly spellbinding but we’ve ranked it lower as the ‘big reveal’, while good, is not as climactic as some of Liane’s other books.

Available at:

liane moriarty books


Nine Perfect Strangers

Released in 2018

Nine Perfect Strangers is told from various perspectives but ultimately tells the tale of nine people who attend a 10-day Mind and Body Total Transformation Retreat at a wellness centre run by a mysterious Russian woman.

Don’t get us wrong, Nine Perfect Strangers (which was adapted into a television show that stars Nicole Kidman) is suspenseful, absorbing and worth a read. We’ve only ranked it last as it’s a little far-fetched compared to other Liane Moriarty books.

Available at:

Related stories